Recent Projects (read Obsessions)

Posted: July 14, 2011 in Kipper, Spice of Life

For a person with OCD like me there is no such thing as a hobby. Now this does not mean that us OCDrs are good any many things, it just means we attack new interests with the zeal of bee on honey. Most of you know that I have spent quite a bit of time working on and to some degree mastering photography, but the dark side of OCD is that it is difficult to be less than emotionally objective about one’s work. Because my photography was so tied to strong emotions, I am taking a break from serious photography and pursuing some other interests. Do not fear, this 30 day project is my way of staying connected to photography. Enter Bobby Harris!

A few weeks ago, Alex and I were at our friend Chad Pott’s home. Chad and Bobby are both skilled guitar musicians and listening to them strum peaked my interest about learning guitar. Bobby and I visited and he explained that it is not terribly difficult, but that if I was serious about learning I must take in person lessons. Due to a tight budget, and my wanting to think it over (OCD makes us impulsive) I told him I would get back with him. A week or so later, I was at our friend Amy’s home and Bobby and I began discussing the guitar some more. Bobby told me that he had an instructor who was reasonable he would send me to and that if I committed to 4 one hour lessons, he would loan me a great guitar to learn on and possibly even sell it to me down the road. At that time, I told Bobby I still wanted to think on it and I have. As you can see from the photo, I have decided to pursue guitar lessons. Apparently, it is not uncommon for near 40 year olds to take up the guitar so I do not feel too stupid. I made my first trip to Guitar Center today and was FLOORED by the entire experience. Now I have no idea if that is a good place to go. I wonder if it is the Wolf Camera of the music world, which would be discouraging because I would NEVER send a newbie to Wolf, Ritz, or any other chain shop. Today, I purchase some Dunlop medium celluloid pics. I hope those will work. I also picked up 2 books with some Barnes and Noble gift cards. So the adventure begins.

So that explains the guitar picks, but what about the peppers? Most of you know that I am growing peppers. I had always heard that gardening can be therapeutic, but never quite understood until now. There is something internally refreshing about raising food from the ground with your own personal labor. It is not that growing peppers is difficult, but it does require daily diligence. Today, Alex and I made our third small harvest of peppers. In the photo, you see 2 Kung Paos, 2 Super Chilis and 1 sweet Banana pepper. I am looking forward to turning all of those into salsa for future consumption.

So there you have it. A glimpse into my crazy world. Please stay tuned because it is quite possible that by the end of the summer I will have a new obsession to add to my repertoire. So goes the life of an obsessive compulsive!

Leave a Reply

