High Quality H2O!

Posted: July 28, 2011 in Deep Thoughts, The Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

What is water? Water is many things to many people. For all of us water is the giver of life, the medium of survival or a harbinger of death. This image is a rather boring picture of me watering my front lawn spiced up with some post processing. Frankly, today’s picture of the day is my laziest attempt yet at simply putting something on a page. But what is water? Billions of people all over the world would look at this image and think how perverse it is to waste drinkable water on a lawn. How vain is it to care about how one’s lawn looks when people the world over are literally dying for a drink of clean water? The sad truth is that life is relative. Is watering my lawn essential? The answer is both yes and no. Cosmetically the answer is no, my life will be no different if my yard is brown grass and dirt. On the other hand, if I do not water my lawn, the ground dries up which affects my foundation possibly causing it to shift or crack which can fundamentally affect my life. People living in Haiti might wish they simply had a house with a foundation cracked all to hell to shelter their children, yet for me a cracked foundation is a fear of crisis proportions. All life is relative and in America we live a relatively great and rich lifestyle so we have little appreciation for things like clean water. So little in fact we, I included, simply waster by watering our lawns and allowing the runoff to flow down the streets into the sewers. Water is the giver of life, the sustainer of humanity and yet we treat it as the most worthless and abundant liquid around. All life is relative!

Leave a Reply

